hodge podge of life.

So, I was out of town last week for work, and therefore unable to post. Playing a little catch up now is definitely called for I do believe…

IMG_1187

Worst photo of me ever…but great feeling!

A run-hater, finishes a 5K…
First things first… we finished our 5K!  Yes, the Breakaway Bardog 5K was a success, and if I do say so myself, we couch to 5kers did pretty great! Christopher clocked in at 31:28 and I wasn’t too far behind with 33:59. Definitely not earth shattering times, but for us it was just about completing it.

Don’t worry the running isn’t stopping here. We are already planning to do another race IMG_1211the end of October, so the quest to get faster and improve breathing continues. But this time around I am even more set, due to some new kicks I bought at Breakaway Running last week. Who knew there was so much involved in picking the right running shoe… this run-hater definitely did not. But Brian at Breakaway did not lead me astray, and I am now the owner of some pretty sweet Brooks. I have to say, they make me feel like one of the cool kids.

Ten Days and Counting…
That is, until the witzs hit the road for out West. A fitting word to describe our excitement, stoked! Completely stoked! It’s just the two of us, a car full of necessities, and the open road for a whole week and we couldn’t be more ready to get moving! The plan is to post a photo each day signaling where we have been or what we have been doing. So, if you read this blog weekly be sure and check in each day for an update!

Although we know what cities we are going to be in and when, what we are going to do when we get there is staying ambiguous. We have general ideas, but for the most part we just wanted to get there and decide. So, there is not telling what we might end up getting into. Also, we decided a few weeks ago that staying at our first bed and breakfast would also be fun for this trip. So, on our second night in Boulder that’s exactly what we are doing. I am pretty excited for that experience just in and of itself.

Memphis News that Makes Me Happy…
cupcakesIf you read the Flyer, listen to the radio, etc. you probably already know that Muddy’s Bake Shop is coming to Midtown. But just in case you haven’t heard, now you too know the exciting news. Yep, South Cooper is about to get a lot sweeter… and I am elated! Lovin’ from the oven will still continue to take place in East Memphis, it will just be spreading the love with this sibling store for those of us further west. So, keep an eye on 585 S. Cooper and all the deliciousness that is destined to come from it!

babalu-signFurthermore, to continue in the trend of Midtown being Memphis, Overton Square will also be getting another resident soon… and its a pretty tasty one if I say so! Babalu Tacos and Tapas is well on its way to expanding its Jackson, MS restaurant to the Bluff City. For any former Jackson resident or those of us who have just eaten there when visiting friends, you know that this place has pretty awesome food! So, I am quite pleased they decided to expand in Memphis. Plus, growth for our great city, just makes me happy!

One thought on “hodge podge of life.

  1. Love seeing the world through your eyes. I wait with excitement for your pictures to be posted each day! Love you better than my tube of mascara!

Leave a Reply

