new likes downtown.

IMG_1167So, I am always up for trying new things. I would like to think most people are, but I guess you have to understand that I consider going to the movies or simply trying a new place to eat, an adventure. There’s something about not knowing whether an eatery is going to be “our new place” or the prospect that a new movie might move into my top ten that I really like. Hey, you gotta make the most of the small things in life…right?

With that said, you can imagine how pumped I get when I notice a new place popping up or I finally get to try out a place I’ve been wanting to go to. These past few weeks I have achieved both of the aforementioned. I have tried a new place (okay several times now) that opened about a month ago, and finally ate at an oldie but goldie. And… here’s how it turned out.

IMG_1164

T&T’s Coffee Art consistently rocks!

New Downtown Resident: Tamp and Tap

Tamp and Tap brings two of my favorite things under one roof… a little tamp (coffee) and a little tap (beer). And ummm…. whats not to like about a place that offers up both of these delicious liquids? I am actually sitting here drinking my regular hazelnut latte order as I type this very blog post, just so ya know! But aside from my usual order, you should get very excited about the Nutella Mocha this place makes. Yep, you heard me, Nutella meet mocha, meet amazingness! And I can tell you from first hand indulgence, it rocks! But if thats not for you, they of course also offer up any other coffee concoction you could possibly want.

IMG_1166

Wooo whooo Gerst!

On the beer side, there is a pretty good bit to choose from as well. See picture to the right for a list of draft options. And as you read that list you will see another reason to give T&T major props… Gerst! Yes, for anyone who knows me I am a huge Yazoo Gerst fan, and well right now downtown you can only get it at one other place… Aldos Pizza Pies. So, props to Aldo too! 

I have not tried the food… but I hear from others it’s pretty good! So, next time you are in the neighborhood you should try this new coffee bar out for yourself. They are located below Van Vleet Flats, at the corner of Second Street and Gayso. Open from 7a-9p every day. Chances are if you are here after 6p on a weekday you might see me.

Veteran Pinch District Resident:  Westy’s

So, I am fairly certain my research is accurate when I tell you that Westy’s has been around since about 2004. But I just made my first walk through the door this past Friday night.  And I have to say, I’m a fan!

They offer up a very chill atmosphere that fits family night out, date night, or drink night with friends. Its also a smart choice for a large group with all kinds of different tastes… because they definitely have something for everyone. They literally boast the biggest menu I have ever seen. If you can’t find something here you like, then chances are you don’t like food!

WestysIs the food the most amazing, never-had anything like this, going back every day kind? No. But was it a fun vibe with quality food and really good service… most definitely! If you go, ask for Leo, he took such good care of Christopher and I and seemed to be doing so for every table in the place. You won’t be disappointed!

So, if your riding the Riverfront Loop, visiting a friend on Mud Island, or taking a St. Jude tour, think about stopping at Westy’s for some grub! It’s located on the corner of North Main and Jackson in the Pinch, and is open 10 a.m-3 p.m 365 days a year. AND if you live downtown, Westy’s will deliver to you until 2 a.m., as long as you as spend at least $12. Pretty nice gig!

So, now that I’ve given you both some new and tried and true options…. come visit us downtown!

Leave a Reply

