easiest homemade meal. ever.

By definition I am no skilled cook. No one is emailing me asking for my pot roast recipe (not that I would have one to give if they did) and I am probably more likely to be cast as an extra on an episode of Game of Thrones or Hart of Dixie than I am to ever be a contestant on Top Chef. See, I would rather spend my time channeling folks like Samantha Brown or Anthony Bourdain, rather than Giada or Rachael Ray… so my culinary skills have only made it so far.

But just like everyone else, I still love a good homemade meal. One that’s warm, tasty, and just leaves you in a good mood afterwards. So, lucky for me I know my very own Barefoot Contessa. I call her mom. And thankfully she has passed on to me the easiest ( yet still super yummy ) recipes she has in her repertoire. My favorite just happens to be good ole Chicken Pot Pie. It’s not only easy, it’s foolproof… and as my mom would say ” just delish!”

Most folks probably already have their own CPP recipe, but if not, pitch the Marie Callenders, and keep reading….

Chicken Pot Pie:IMG_0626

Whatcha Need to Have:
1 can of Cream of Potato
1 can of Veg-All (drained)
1 can of Cream of Chicken
3 Chicken Breasts (cooked)
1 package of Pillsbury pie crusts
Salt
Pepper

IMG_0629

1. Cook chicken breasts thoroughly and cut up. ( I am not fan of looking at photos of raw chicken, and didn’t think you would be either… but you get the picture). Cook the chicken, then cut it up. Easy as that.

 

2. Mix ingredients in a bowl.

IMG_0628

Before.

IMG_0632

After.

 

 

 

 

 

3. Salt and Pepper to taste. And don’t be stingy… you won’t be disappointed. Make sure you can see the black!

4. Now it’s time to assemble the pie!IMG_0633

You will notice in the ingredient listing I specifically mentioned you needed Pillsbury brand for your pie crusts. I am not just being a brand snob… I have found that  pie crusts are much like Lucky Charms, Eggo Waffles, and Bluebell ice cream… you taste the difference in the brand. So it’s worth the splurge.

First, lay out one pie crust in bottom of the pie pan.
IMG_0634

Next, add in your filling.
IMG_0635

And lastly, place remaining pie crust on top. Remember to flute edges with a fork, and put 3-4 slits in the top, to let the steam escape! Plus, this make it look very “pie like.”
IMG_0636

5. Now it’s time to go in the oven! Cook on 350 degrees for an hour.

IMG_0638

Temperature.

IMG_0640

Yep, I’m old school.

 

 

 

 

 

6.Then go sit down and catch up on an episode of Parenthood, The Walking Dead, Downton Abbey, or you know, your favorite  show… and about the time it’s over… it’s time to eat!

7. Enjoy. Enjoy. Enjoy.

IMG_0641

Perfection.

IMG_0643

Delish!

Leave a Reply

